My “Quote” Life

I am and have always been a “quotes person.” I find them to be a great source of inspiration and one of those excellent “pick-me-up-when-I’m-down” resources. That’s why I’d like to use quotes in my first blog post to tell you a bit more about myself.  So, without further adieu, here are my five favorite quotes and how I think they apply to my life!

1. “And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”

-Roald Dahl 

So, at risk of coming across as a ridiculously idealistic optimist, I’d like to start by saying that I find this quote to be enchanted. To me, the idea of finding happiness in optimism embodies the way I’d like to live my life. Every day is a new chance for positive change. This is an idea I think of often and I’ve come to the conclusion that striving for positive change will ALWAYS be important. This quote inspires me to seek out change and to look for “magic.” In fact, I was introduced to this quote by my dear friend, Val, who was truly my inspiration for writing this blog. (You can read her blog here.)

2. “All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.”

-Walt Disney

Again, this quote probably puts me at risk of sounding like some idealistic, overly optimistic nut, but it does propel me to go for my dreams. Oftentimes, I’ll sit down at my desk, study for five minutes, and decide that watching Titanic, which I’ve seen about 700 times, would be a better use of my time. Alas, as I begin to stand up and beeline for my bed to snuggle up for movie time, I catch a glimpse of this quote which I have strategically posted over my desk. I am reminded that my goal is maintaining a 4.0 grade point average so that my dream of becoming a school principal can come true. Suddenly, Titanic isn’t so interesting anymore.

3. “I’m thankful, for every break in my heart,

I’m grateful, for every scar,

Some pages turned,

Some bridges burned,

But there were lessons learned.”

-Carrie Underwood

This quote touches me very personally. I am and have always been a steadfast believer in “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger” (Thank you, Kanye West). A life of a lot of ups and downs has taught me that nothing can be taken for granted and while this is an abstract idea, it is such an overwhelming part of who I am.

4. “We must see all scars as beauty. Okay? This will be our secret. Because take it from me, a scar does not form on the dying. A scar means, ‘I survived’.”

– Chris Cleave

My intention is not to splay out all of my trials and tribulations nor is it to reveal some tenuous tale of woe; however, I do have scars, literal, tangible scars that go down the lengths of both of my legs. This is why this quote hits so close to home. 4 surgeries, some time spent in a wheel chair, and years of physical therapy as well as the support of my loving friends and family have cured me of my malformed knees. Some of my friends fondly refer to me as “Zippers” and I am proud that my zippers are there. They are my badges of courage and I do think they are beautiful.

5. “The more I think about it, the more I realize there is nothing more artistic than to love others.” – Vincent Van Gogh

Strangely, I’ve come to the conclusion that loving others is not innate. It is a skill that is harvested and refined. By no means am I any sort of Picasso (truthfully, I am barely capable of creating a picture more complex than a stick figure); however, I do think I’ve somehow mastered the art of loving and I think it is a great skill in life. I have been given the gift of wonderful family and friends and they have taught me this art.

3 thoughts on “My “Quote” Life

  1. Well, BAG Lady,it seems we have the same outlooks on life, and I promise-being an idealistic optimist is never a disadvantage!Show off your scars to the world and thanks for the hilarious(yet quite true)video. Keep on blogging, you make my day! 🙂 ❤

  2. You are truly awesome 🙂 I am definitely a quotes person too & I know that they can really have an impact on your outlook! Great group of quotes, especially that Roald Dahl one 😉 Tee hee. Great post!

Leave a Reply

