The Cupcakes I Made

Last month my sister and I visited our friend Shira at her home in Atlanta. Unfortunately, due to distance, school, and time, our visits are few and far between. Luckily for me, though, Shira and her mom, Debra, have come down to Florida for vacation and they were able to join my family and me for Friday night dinner. In honor of their visit, Jessie (my sister) and I made red velvet cupcakes. We used a boxed mix for the cake but made a really simple cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting:

1 (8 oz.) package cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

2 cups confectioners’ sugar

The cupcakes were delicious and a hit with my friends and family! I think there’s something very powerful about food. Obviously, we need it for nourishment, but food also seems to be a kind of glue. I truly think we bond over food!

4 thoughts on “The Cupcakes I Made

Leave a Reply

